Facebook Sent Me Spiraling This Morning

Ryan Canady
3 min readMar 26, 2024
Photo by Reid Zura on Unsplash

With blurry eyes and a hopeful spirit, I woke up this morning and did what I always do.

Scrolled absent-minded through my Facebook feed looking for… well I don’t know what I was looking for. It feels like it is simply a reflex at this point (I am certain that many of you can relate).

While I often spend a few minutes each morning doing exactly this, I would say that the value I gain from it is minimal at best. It is probably another habit that I should try to kick to the curb, but there are bigger fish to fry.

What I stumbled upon this morning was of some interest to me though…

While digging through the weeds of news reports and the latest pictures shared by friends and family, I came across yet another sports-related story that caught my attention.

Interestingly, I don’t even think of myself as that much of a sports person, but Facebook seems to know that these stories are eye-catching to me and that I often stop and take a glance at them. If this were not the case, I don’t think they would keep feeding them to me as often as they do.

Anyway, I saw something that send me into a mild creative panic.

What Induced the Panic?

--

--

Ryan Canady

Lily (the dog) and I are on a quest to help educate and inform writers about this craft that we all love, join us!