I Got the Attention of a Medium Celebrity: What it Felt Like

Ryan Canady
4 min readJan 20, 2024

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

We all secretly harbor some ambition that a celebrity on Medium will throw some attention our way, don’t we?

I think that admit it or not, most of us do wish that we could draw a little attention from some of the biggest names on Medium.

It’s not that their specific attention means that you will gain more traffic or that it will have much of an impact on your Medium journey at all, but it is still fun to think that you are doing something interesting enough to capture a moment or two of the big wheels on Medium.

That’s what happened to me recently…

My Brand New Publication Gets a Boost

Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

No, I don’t mean that kind of boost…

The boost didn’t come from Medium itself, but from the notice of someone that I consider to be a Medium celebrity.

I had only opened my brand-new publication, called Seahaven Island, yesterday.

It has already attracted some notice, with the following stats:

  • 30 followers
  • 4 stories posted

Okay, to be fair 2 of those 4 stories are mine, and 30 followers isn’t that big of a deal. However, this is still just Day 1!

That being said, I was thrilled to see that apparently, it is relevant enough to capture the attention of the one and only Bin Jiang!

Surely you already know Bin Jiang, but if you don’t for some reason, you should get to know him.

I consider Bin to be one of my Medium heroes for his radical transparency about both his performance on Medium as well as his writing strategies and philosophy.

He shares stories with fully transparent titles such as the following:

Another great example of his straightforward storytelling is:

So yes, I find Bin Jiang’s work to be some of the straight-talking, no-nonsense work that I can’t get enough of.

I know for certain that others must feel the same way given the kind of earnings and following that Bin has reported for himself.

Therefore, it was much to my delight when Bin Jiang decided to both join my publication and submit a piece to it.

Not only that, but he went on to create a piece of content that highlights the new publication and my hard work on it:

From Bin Jiang’s article

You can read the full piece from Bin Jiang here:

So yes, that was a nice surprise waiting for me this morning!

Learn From Medium Celebrities

Photo by LexScope on Unsplash

You don’t necessarily have to attract the attention of your favorite Medium celebrities, but you ought to try to learn from them regardless.

The hard work that these big accounts have put into their work is something that can be learned from.

Many of the big-time accounts on Medium are more than happy to share the secrets of their success.

My recommendation?

Listen to what they have to say!

After all, these are the individuals who have found a way to make Medium work for them.

Why would you not at least give them some attention and figure out how you can emulate their success?

It doesn’t mean copying every tactic that they use, but it does mean taking some of the basic mechanics of what they have done and put it into play for yourself.

For now, I will briefly bask in the knowledge that Bin Jiang appreciates a little of what I am doing. Then, I will try to keep my head from getting too swollen and get back to work!

Seahaven Island is open and accepting submissions. I try to add every person who follows it as a writer, and I check for submissions regularly. Hoping to build something special over there.

You can check it all out here: Seahaven Island — Medium

--

--

Ryan Canady

Lily (the dog) and I are on a quest to help educate and inform writers about this craft that we all love, join us!