I Went Back to Church for the First Time in Years

Ryan Canady
3 min readSep 23, 2024
Free Cupcakes Were Offered at the Service

If memory serves me, the last time I was in a church service was likely for a Christmas or Easter service a number of years ago.

I’ll be honest and say that I am not exactly the church-going type. It is just not something that I spend a lot of mental energy on.

I don’t hold anything against those who go to church every week or who find a lot of meaning out of it, I just don’t personally gain much from it.

This wasn’t always the case for me…

In my teenage years, I was a frequent church-goer and enjoyed the experience.

In fact, I was often the one dragging my family along to services or would simply go on my own.

However, in my adult years I simply got away from that and haven’t necessarily bothered with going much since then.

That said, my wife discovered a local church that she enjoys and gets a lot of value from and had been asking me to attend with her.

We agreed on going together this Sunday, and I held true to that agreement.

An Awkward Start

--

--

Ryan Canady

Lily (the dog) and I are on a quest to help educate and inform writers about this craft that we all love, join us!